Share your thoughts.

Your email address will not be published.

Traveloka needs your voice. We welcome your on-topic commentary, criticism and expertise. Comments are moderated for civility.

Japan Takes Top Spot from Singapore as World’s Most Powerful Passport

Thanks to the visa-free access granted by Myanmar earlier this month, Japan has taken the top spot as the world’s most powerful passport.

Japanese passport holders can now enjoy easy access to 190 countries, while Singapore follows in second place with access to 189 countries.

The two Asian nations who have been neck and neck at the top, have overtaken Germany, the previous number one for five years in a row.

Three countries currently hold the number three spot on the list specifically Germany, France, and South Korea with visa-free access to 188 countries.

Many Asian countries have upped their ranks since the beginning of the year thanks to the visa policy agreements between governments.

The passport rankings are being tracked by Henley & Partners Passport Index, a global citizenship and residence advisory firm.

Henley Passport Index power ranking:
1. Japan: 190
2. Singapore: 189
3. Germany, France, South Korea: 188
4. Denmark, Finland, Italy, Sweden, Spain: 187
5. Norway, United Kingdom, Austria, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, United States: 186
6. Belgium, Switzerland, Ireland, Canada: 185
7. Australia, Greece, Malta: 183
8. New Zealand, Czech Republic: 182
9. Iceland: 181
10. Hungary, Slovenia, Malaysia: 180

Iran and Afghanistan remain at the bottom spot with only 30 countries visa-free for their passport holders.

Read More: How to Get a Japan Visa in Manila

Various Passports

Meanwhile the Philippines has fallen three spots down the list from 72nd to 75th, with visa-free or visa-on-arrival access to 66 destinations:

1. Armenia
2. Benin
3. Bolivia
4. Brazil
5. Brunei
6. Cambodia
7. Cape Verde Islands
8. Colombia
9. Comores Islands
10. Cook Islands
11. Costa Rica
12. Cote d’lvoire (Ivory Coast)
13. Djibouti
14. Dominica
15. Ecuador
16. Fiji
17. Gambia
18. Guinea-Bissau
19. Haiti
20. Hong Kong (SAR China)
21. Indonesia
22. Iran
23. Israel
24. Kenya
25. Kyrgyztan
26. Laos
27. Macao (SAR China)
28. Madagascar
29. Malawi
30. Malaysia
31. Maldives
32. Marshall Islands
33. Mauritania
34. Mauritius
35. Micronesia
36. Mongolia
37. Morocco
38. Mozambique
39. Myanmar
40. Nepal
41. Nicaragua
42. Niue
43. Palau Islands
44. Palestinian Territory
45. Papua New Guinea
46. Peru
47. Rwanda
48. Samoa
49. Seychelles
50. Singapore
51. Somalia
52. Sri Lanka
53. St. Lucia
54. St. Vincent and the Grenadines
55. Suriname
56. Taiwan
57. Tajikistan
58. Tanzania
59. Thailand
60. Timor-Leste
61. Togo
62. Trinidad and Tobago
63. Tuvalu
64. Uganda
65. Vanuatu
66. Vietnam

Before visiting these countries, be sure to double-check how long you can stay at your destination visa-free. For some countries, you can stay as long as 14 days before having to apply for a visa to extend your trip. So, best that you do your due diligence as a traveler and make sure that you do not overstay.

Plan your trip to the Land of the Rising Sun and book your flight and hotel in Japan with Traveloka

Related Articles