Share your thoughts.

Your email address will not be published.

Traveloka needs your voice. We welcome your on-topic commentary, criticism and expertise. Comments are moderated for civility.

Masungi Georeserve Shortlisted for “Tourism for Tomorrow” Award

The Philippines’ Masungi Georeserve was recently named one of the 15 finalists in the World Travel & Tourism Council’s (WTTC) Tourism for Tomorrow Awards.

Rizal’s popular geotourism spot is the only Philippine destination shortlisted for the awards, and is nominated in the Destination Stewardship Category.

The georeserve has been a protected area for over 15 years. What was once just another victim of illegal logging and other crimes against the environment, is now a sprawling rock garden surrounded by lush rainforests.

Famous for adventure seekers and nature lovers, visitors are free to explore the karst and rocky landscape through rope courses, steep winding paths, and uniquely designed stops.

Hiking at Masungi Georeserve Rizal

WTTC’s Tourism for Tomorrow awards is considered one of the world’s top accolades in sustainable tourism.

According to their website, the awards body recognizes the best in practice of sustainable tourism in terms of their; environmentally-friendly operations; protection of cultural and natural heritage; and direct benefits to the social and economic well-being of locals in destinations all over the world.

The Destination Stewardship Award is given to any organization that helps a place “bring forward its unique identity for the benefit of its residents and tourists”.

Other categories included in the WTTC awards include: Social Impact, Climate Action, Investing in People, and Changemakers.


Complete list of finalists

Social Impact Award:

  • Awamaki, Peru
  • Intrepid Group, Australia
  • Nikoi Island, Indonesia

Destination Stewardship Award:

  • Grupo Rio de Prata, Jardim and Bonito, Brazil
  • Masungi Georeserve, Philippines
  • St. Kitts Sustainable Destination, St. Kitts and Nevis

Climate Action Award:

  • Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort, Aruba
  • The Brando, Tetiaroa Private Island, French Polynesia
  • Tourism Holdings Limited, New Zealand

Investing in People Award:

  • Lemon Tree Hotels Limited, India
  • Reserva do Ibitipoca, Brazil
  • Shanga by Elewana Collection, Tanzania

Changemakers Award:

  • Kelompok Peduli Lingkungan Belitung (KPLB)
  • SEE Turtles, USA
  • The Cardamom Tented Camp, Cambodia

The winners of this year’s awards will be announced during the WTTC global summit on April 3 and 4 in Seville, Spain.

Check out these UNESCO heritage sites in the Philippines to see other prized gems in the country.

Related Articles