Share your thoughts.

Your email address will not be published.

Traveloka needs your voice. We welcome your on-topic commentary, criticism and expertise. Comments are moderated for civility.

11th Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series Kickstarts in El Nido

The Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series, the most respected cliff diving event in the world, is kicking off its first leg in none other than El Nido, Palawan.

Now on its 11th season, the event will make its debut in three new locations which includes Dublin, Ireland, and Beirut, Lebanon.

The opening contests will happen on April 13 in the Big and Small Lagoon, and will feature 24 free divers of 18 different nationalities taking off from heights of up to 27 meters.

World champions Rhiannan Iffland from Australia and Gary Hunt from Great Britain will be competing along with four surprise wildcard entrees.

Hunt has been dominating the men’s competition with a total of six trophies overall, while Iffland was hailed the women’s champion in both 2016 and 2017.

The rest of the events will happen in:

  • El Nido, Palawan, Philippines (April 13)
  • Dublin, Ireland (May 12)
  • Polignano a Mare, Italy (June 2)
  • Sao Miguel, Azores, Portugal (June 22)
  • Beirut, Lebanon (July 14)
  • Mostar, Bosnia, and Herzegovina (August 24)
  • Bilbao Spain (September 14)


Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series 2019
Image Credit: @redbullcliffdiving via Facebook

Divers will be scored by judges based on their take-off, position in the air, and entry in the water. Winners will be awarded the coveted King Kahekili Trophy, which symbolises the Hawaiian principles of “po” and “mana”, meaning power and balance.

Aside from the contests, the events in Miniloc Island, El Nido, will also include a number of clean-up and conservation workshops. The Red Bull Diving Competition will serve as a global stage to raise awareness for the island’s efforts on sustainable tourism.

Sounds exciting? Keep up-to-date on the latest news with Explore!

Related Articles